2020 Symposium on Substance Use Research

Core

2020 Symposium on Substance Use ResearchVirtual Conference — November 9-13, 2020


We are happy to announce that the 2020 Symposium on Substance Use Research will be co-hosted by:

The symposium will be held virtually during the week of November 9th, 2020. The digital format will include two to three daily presentation sessions and numerous networking sessions throughout the week to accommodate various schedules. Registration does not require attendance at all events, and registrants will be able to choose relevant online sessions from symposium communications prior to participation. We hope to see you there!

This year's event will be bigger and better than ever, leveraging research, knowledge, and insight on substance use from across the country. Please return to this page for updates on the agenda.




ABOUT OUR PARTNERSHIP:

In September 2019, two newly funded COBREs (the COBRE on Opioids and Overdose at Rhode Island Hospital and the Rural Drug Addiction Research [RDAR] COBRE at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln) began small efforts to collaborate with one another, with the intention of increasing access to research around substance use and addiction science more broadly. This started with brief phone calls between Center PIs and administrators and quickly expanded to a full-blown partnership, as we saw synergies across almost all areas of our programming. Our early goal to share more information across centers has grown into a valuable collaboration that includes hosting joint seminars, events, workshops, trainings, and most recently the upcoming symposium. Excitingly, while the organization of the symposium developed, a third collaborator soon emerged, and in August 2020 the symposium further expanded to include the expertise and support of an IDeA-CTR: the West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute (WVCTSI).

This new collaborative continues to provide novel opportunities to work together on substance use-focused research and intervention development across our institutions. We have worked to build on the existing resources and expertise that each of our COBREs and IDeA-CTR provides to further increase our efficiencies and capacities at all institutions. We are appreciative to all of the faculty, staff, and students who have contributed to this joint endeavor and who have engaged in this knowledge-sharing effort. We hope that this partnership will increase future collaborations across our states and continue to grow our collective memberships. We look forward to continuing and expanding this unique partnership and aim to grow our successful COBRE-CTR collaboration with other substance use-focused centers across the US in the coming years.




The Symposium AgendaPlease check your registrant e-mail for updates and connection info.


DAY ONE: Monday, November 9th

  • 11:15am – 11:30am CST (12:15pm – 12:30pm EST) //  Opening Remarks
  • 11:30am – 12:45pm CST (12:30pm – 1:45pm EST) //  Keynote 1: Kassandra Frederique
  • 2:45pm – 4:00pm CST (3:45pm – 5:00pm EST) //  Panel Discussion on Harm Reduction
    • Panel Participants:
      • Gordan Casey (Moderator)
      • Traci Green (Moderator)
      • Joe Caldwell (Panelist)
      • Natasha Slesnick (Panelist)
      • Haven Wheelock (Panelist)
      • David Lucas (Panelist)
      • Ju Nyeong Park (Panelist)

 

DAY TWO: Tuesday, November 10th

  • 11:30am – 12:00pm CST (12:30pm – 1:00pm EST) //  “Bring Your Own Lunch” & Link-In Block One

The lunch and link-in is designed to be a virtual networking event where people with similar interests can learn about and discuss specific core efforts to support substance use research.

  • 12:05pm – 12:35pm CST (1:05pm – 1:35pm EST) //  “Bring Your Own Lunch” & Link-In Block Two
    • Choose to “Link-In” and Network with the Following Cores:
      • Longitudinal Networks Core (RDAR Center)
      • Special Populations Core (COBRE on Opioids and Overdose)
      • Data and Research Methods Core (COBRE on Opioids and Overdose)
      • Translational and Transformative Core (COBRE on Opioids and Overdose)
      • Clinical Research Resources and Facilities/Clinical Trials Core (WVCTSI)
      • Community Engagement and Outreach Core (WVCTSI)
      • Clinical Research Design, Epidemiology and Biostatistics Core (WVCTSI)
  • 2:30pm – 4:00pm CST (3:30pm – 5:00pm EST) //  Short Research Presentations

 

DAY THREE: Wednesday, November 11th

  • 10:30am – 11:45am CST (11:30am – 12:45pm EST) //  Keynote 2: Judith Grisel
  • 12:00pm – 1:00pm CST (1:00pm – 2:00pm EST) //  Poster Session
  • 2:45pm – 4:00pm CST (3:45pm – 5:00pm EST) //  Panel Discussion on Stigma
    • Panel Participants:
      • Jon Soske (Moderator)
      • Alene Kennedy-Hendricks (Panelist)
      • Kathie Starkweather (Panelist)
      • Scott Neufeld (Panelist)
      • Austin McNeill Brown (Panelist)

 

DAY FOUR: Thursday, November 12th

  • 9:00am – 10:00am CST (10:00am – 11:00am EST) //  “Bring Your Own Coffee” Connector

The coffee connector is designed to be a virtual networking event where people with similar research interests can connect and discuss their work.

  • Choose to “Connect” and Network over the Following Topics:
    • Trauma, Telehealth, and EMA
    • Medication-Assisted Treatment and HIV/HCV
    • Translating Basic Science
    • Women's Sexual Health
    • Social Networks and Inequality
    • Corrections, Policing, and Law Enforcement
  • 2:30pm – 4:00pm CST (3:30pm – 5:00pm EST) //  Short Research Presentations

 

DAY FIVE: Friday, November 13th

  • 11:30am – 12:45pm CST (12:30pm – 1:45pm EST) //  Keynote 3: Frederick Altice
  • 2:45pm – 4:00pm CST (3:45pm – 5:00pm EST) //  Panel Discussion on Community Engagement
    • Panel Participants:
      • Brianna Sheppard (Moderator)
      • Doug Leech (Panelist)
      • Jan Rader (Panelist)
      • Alex Collins (Panelist)
      • David Baltierra (Panelist)
  • 4:00pm – 4:15pm CST (5:00pm – 5:15pm EST) //  Closing Remarks


 

This event is supported by the Rural Drug Addiction Research COBRE at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln [P20GM130461], the COBRE on Opioids and Overdose at Rhode Island Hospital [P20GM125507], and the West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute [5U54GM104942-04]. All are funded by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health.

This content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health.