2021 Symposium on Substance Use Research

Core

2021 Symposium on Substance Use Research

VIRTUAL CONFERENCE — NOVEMBER 9-11, 2021


We are happy to announce that the 2021 Symposium on Substance Use Research will be co-hosted by:

The symposium will be held virtually from November 9-11, 2021. The digital format will include two to three daily presentation sessions and networking activities throughout the week to accomodate various schedules. Registration does not require attendance at all events, and registrants will be able to choose relevant online sessions sent from symposium communications prior to participation.

We are excited to continue leveraging research, knowledge, and insight on substance use from across the country. We hope to see you there!

Please return to this page for updates on the agenda! (See below for agenda.)




ABOUT OUR PARTNERSHIP:

In September 2019, two newly funded COBREs (the COBRE on Opioids and Overdose at Rhode Island Hospital and the Rural Drug Addiction Research [RDAR] COBRE at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln) began small efforts to collaborate with one another, with the intention of increasing access to research around substance use and addiction science more broadly. This started with brief phone calls between Center PIs and administrators and quickly expanded to a full-blown partnership, as we saw synergies across almost all areas of our programming. Our early goal to share more information across centers has grown into a valuable collaboration that includes hosting joint seminars, events, workshops, trainings, and most recently the upcoming symposium. Excitingly, while the organization of the symposium developed, a third collaborator soon emerged, and in August 2020 the symposium further expanded to include the expertise and support of an IDeA-CTR: the West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute (WVCTSI). In planning for the 2021 event, the West Virginia INBRE program was added as a host which brings input now from all three IDeA-funded program types. The 2021 symposium continues to foster such collaboration, and we are honored to include the COBRE Center for Addiction and Disease Risk Exacerbation (CADRE) at Brown University as well as the West Virginia INBRE program, whose support brings event input and collaboration from all three types of IDeA-funded programs.

This new collaborative continues to provide novel opportunities to work together on substance use-focused research and intervention development across our institutions. We have worked to build on the existing resources and expertise that our COBRE, CTR and INBRE programs provide to further increase our efficiencies and capacities at all institutions. We are appreciative to all of the faculty, staff, and students who have contributed to this joint endeavor and who have engaged in this knowledge-sharing effort. We hope that this partnership will increase future collaborations across our programs and continue to grow our collective memberships. We look forward to continuing and expanding this unique partnership and aim to grow our successful IDeA State collaborations with other substance use-focused centers across the US in the coming years.




The Symposium Agenda

PLEASE CHECK YOUR REGISTRANT E-MAIL FOR UPDATES AND CONNECTION INFO.

DAY ONE: Tuesday, November 9th

  • 8:15am – 9:30am CT (9:15am – 10:30am ET) //  Keynote 1: Tom Coderre
  • 9:30am – 10:00am CT (10:30am – 11:00am ET) //  Virtual Coffee Break
  • 10:00am – 11:15am CT (11:00am – 12:15pm ET) //  Short Research Presentations 1
  • 11:15am – 12:15pm CT (12:15pm – 1:15pm ET) //  Lunch
  • 1:45pm – 1:50pm CT (2:45pm – 2:50pm ET) //  Closing Remarks

 

DAY TWO: Wednesday, November 10th

  • 8:00am – 8:15am CT (9:00am – 9:15am ET) //  Opening Remarks: Daniel Morgan
  • 8:15am – 9:30am CT (9:15am – 10:30am ET) //  Keynote 2: Colleen Hanlon
  • 9:30am – 10:00am CT (10:30am – 11:00am ET) //  Virtual Coffee Break
  • 10:00am – 11:15am CT (11:00am – 12:15pm ET) //  Poster Session
  • 11:15am – 12:15pm CT (12:15pm – 1:15pm ET) //  Lunch
  • 12:15pm – 1:30pm CT (1:15pm – 2:30pm ET) //  Social Networking Activity
  • 1:30pm – 1:35pm CT (2:30pm – 2:35pm ET) //  Closing Remarks

 

DAY THREE: Thursday, November 11th

  • 8:00am – 8:15am CT (9:00am – 9:15am ET) //  Opening Remarks: Sally Hodder
  • 8:15am – 9:30am CT (9:15am – 10:30am ET) //  Keynote 3: Ali Rezai
  • 9:30am – 10:00am CT (10:30am – 11:00am ET) //  Virtual Coffee Break
  • 10:00am – 11:15am CT (11:00am – 12:15pm ET) //  Short Research Presentations 2
  • 11:15am – 12:15pm CT (12:15pm – 1:15pm ET) //  Lunch
  • 1:45pm – 2:15pm CT (2:45pm – 3:15pm ET) //  Virtual Coffee Break
  • 2:15pm – 3:30pm CT (3:15pm – 4:30pm ET) //  Keynote 4: William Stoops
  • 3:30pm – 3:35pm CT (4:30pm – 4:35pm ET) //  Closing Remarks: Rick Bevins

 

This event is supported by the Rural Drug Addiction Research COBRE at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln [P20GM130461], the COBRE on Opioids and Overdose at Rhode Island Hospital [P20GM125507], the West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute [5U54GM104942], the WV-INBRE at Marshall University [P20GM103434], and the COBRE Center for Addiction and Disease Risk Exacerbation at Brown University [P20GM130414]. All are funded by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health.

This content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of the National Institutes of Health.